Dutch Windmills At Sunset

Dutch windmills at sunset

Well if you made it this far it makes me happy. As I have discussed in other parts of this blog, I decided to show the world that a wood canvas can be part of the art. I would like to thank my wife for urging me to make a blog. The above painting is for her since she is Dutch. This is an actual place called Kinderdijk. We have been there several times. I met her in Holland when I was in the military.

As I mentioned before, I like to paint but even more I like to do wood working. Why not combine both I thought? Now I know that I am not the first to paint on wood. When you google this kind of art it’s all over the place. Artists use many types of wood canvases. From drift wood to barn wood and even pallet wood and everything in between. I use cedar planks that interlock. I haven’t seen anyone else do this, but there may be? I’m not saying I am the only one on the planet doing this, I’m just saying I haven’t found anyone else using this type of wood canvas. These cedar planks can be cut to any size. I have done small to very large paintings on them. I simply cut them and glue, clamp and sand. These cedar planks are the thickness of wood paneling and are light weight, but very strong when two pine board cross members are glued to the back of them. As I said, the wood itself becomes part of the art. The seams where the planks are glued together are easily seen. This however, doesn’t take away from the painting in my mind. In fact, it adds something to the painting I think. I can’t quite figure out what it adds, but in my opinion it certainly doesn’t take away anything from the art. The other part of this canvas is the wood grain, knot holes and various wood markings and discolorations. Again, these natural imperfections in the canvas seems to add to the painting.

Thank you for taking some time to review my work.

Blog Directory

 

 

Leave a Reply

